Meeting Hub provides you with a simple but powerful set of Cancellation Rules. These rules enable you to enforce your booking terms & conditions in a consistent manner.
Whenever a booking is cancelled in Meeting Hub, the system will consult these rules to calculate whether the cancellation is within your terms & conditions and if the customer is due to receive a refund or not. Where customers are entitled to a refund, Meeting Hub calculates and refunds in real-time if the original payment was via credit card. Please note, as Meeting Hub allows bookings to be made up to a year in advance, it is important that the final cancellation rule is a ‘catch-all’ rule with a ‘Maximum Days’ value of 365.
Watch the YouTube video tutorial to learn how to configure cancellation rules for your organization:
Booking Cancellation Rules are configured within the Manage Space / Facilities > Cancellation Rules
You can see by the below screenshot the terms are configured simply by entering in:.
- The minimum number of days;
- The maximum number of days;
- The maximum number of attendees; and
- The refund percentage
In the above example (screenshot), if the customer provides a day or less notice there will be no refund. If the customer provides between 2 – 4 days’ notice, then they will receive a 50% refund. Between 5 – 365 days, they will receive a 100% refund. Please note the following conditions:
- minimum and maximum days cannot overlap unless you have different rules for the number of attendees;
- the number of attendees variable is designed to allow you to have greater penalties for larger meetings and events;
- ensure your final rule goes right out to the maximum period E.g. 365 days; and
- the refund amount is calculated on the total booking value inclusive of amenities or any additional charges.
As a system administrator, you will be able to override cancellation rules when cancelling meetings for customers, if required we have an ‘Add on’ which enables customers to cancel their own meetings, however, they would not be able to override the cancellation rules.
How do my customers know what the terms & conditions are, and where can they view them?
During the set up process you are able to upload a copy of your standard booking terms and conditions. Meeting Hub provides you with a ‘boiler plate’ template covering all basic aspects of processing payments via credit card. You can then adapt these to suit your specific organisational requirements. Each time a customer makes a booking they are asked to confirm they accept these terms & conditions.
How does a customer know which terms have been applied to a cancellation?
When a booking is cancelled, the corresponding cancellation term is included in the notification which is sent to the customer.
When will the refund be processed (if a refund is due)?
Where the preferred payment method is credit card, Meeting Hub will immediately process the refund onto the customers credit card. Where the preferred payment method is invoice, please consult your organization internal procedures for how these are handled.
Will the customer receive a credit note for the refund?
Yes they will. Meeting Hub will create a credit note entry in the billing file. The next time the billing process is performed, this transaction will be imported into your accounting system and a corresponding credit note will be issued.